PosyMosey's Blog

A walk through my wild beautiful world

Confession… January 28, 2010

Ok, now that everything is fixed I have a confession to make.
I was so excited to be a part of my first swap.
I bought some great fabrics.
I cut squares. I cut some more squares.
I fussy cut 40 squares. (Hey this is a big deal for a newbie like me!!! They take forever!) I was so proud of the little stacks of squares on my dining room table. I took pictures of them (see!)

I packed them up and got ready to head off to the post office.
I got online to find Wendy’s address to mail my little beauties Down Under.
I scanned the e-mail instructions.
Something caught my eye.
Something I didn’t expect.
A number.
4
As in 4″ squares.
Somewhere along the line 3″ squares lodged in my brain and 3″ squares is what I cut.
200 now unusable (for this project anyway) 3″ squares.
I wanted to cry. I wanted to quit. I’ve had a rough couple of weeks. This just topped it off.
With some sympathy and encouragement from my dear husband, I hiked up my big girl panties and headed out to the fabric store – the really nice one- where I bought new fabrics (and another confession- some extra fabric not for the swap)
I went home and cut like crazy.
I discovered that 4″ squares are way easier to cut than 3″ squares.
I packed up the 4 ” squares and sent my husband to the post office with them.
After he left I realized I forgot to take a picture of them, so here is a picture of the scraps.

Any ideas for what I can do with 200 3″ squares of  i-spy type fabric?

 

3 Responses to “Confession…”

  1. Wendy Says:

    Oh no Molly!
    I am so glad you have an encouraging husband & you have big girls’ panties!!!
    I’m sorry if I had confused you … did my best to make it all clear …. Your fabrics look great & you’ll find a way to use the 3″ squares … make a memory game or the like …
    I’m looking forward to them arriving!
    Cheers
    Wendy

  2. posymosey Says:

    Oh, No, Wendy, it was entirely my own fault! I didn’t read it carefully! Your instructions were great!!! It was one of those “measure twice, cut once” things, but in this case “read instructions CAREFULLY twice (or even just once)before cutting” would have been good! I think the 3 from Feb.3rd must have stuck in my head for some reason!

  3. posymosey Says:

    oh, and I’m thinking of getting a few more fabrics and some chalkboard fabric and making some reversible I-spy placemats. I should have enough to make oh, 20 or so :-)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.