PosyMosey's Blog

A walk through my wild beautiful world

Beginning Quilting in the Deep Water July 19, 2009

Filed under: Deep Water Quilting Bee,Tangled Web - Adventures with yarn — Posymosey @ 3:31 pm

I don’t generally start things like most people. Most people start with the basics, do an easy project to perfect their skills and move up a gradual incline of more and more difficult projects. I, on the other hand just pick something I love and start there, figuring it out as I go. One example – Most people start knitting by making a scarf or something similar in one or two basic stitches, I started with a wrap-style multi-colored fair isle sweater for my daughter.  It turned out pretty well considering I had never read a pattern.

I also HATE to do things over, since I have little time to craft.  I would much rather work a mistake into the design if at all possible, than to undo my work and start over.  When I made the sweater I knit the fair isle design backwards since I had not been schooled on the details of reading a knitting pattern, but it just made it a bit more unique.
So, with that in mind, I embark on quilting. I am going to jump into the Deep Water head first and hope I can figure it out. My mom loaned me Denyse Schmidt Quilts and I have spent far too much time surfing the internet looking at blogs, tutorials and fabrics. by the end of today I hope to have finalized my plan for my first quilt.

Stay Tuned!!!

 

Leave a Reply

